Does Keen 2 have customizable variables?

Anything related to Keen Modding.
proYorp

Does Keen 2 have customizable variables?

Post by proYorp »

I am a novice at programming. I know some of the theory but haven't succeeded in using it for much. I know that in some languages like JavaScript, there are different types of variables that can only hold certain types of data, for instance boolean, string, integer, and float. Does assembly have this limitation? Specifically, assembly resulting from compiled C/C++ as from how Keen was created?

Keen 2 has eight variables used to determine the status of winning the game, one for each machine level. As far as I understand, they are used as true/false boolean variables: value of 0 if false, value of 1 if true.

So can these variables be used to hold values other than true/false? What is their maximum value? 255? 65535?

If it's possible, then there are eight separate variables that can be patched to keep track of all kinds of things. It would require quite a bit of restructuring the functions that are called in the engine, but more complicated things have been done I think. Maybe just one of the city variables can be patched to simply add +1 to its value every time an important level is won, so it can still be used to trigger the victory sequence once it reaches a certain value, and the rest can be used for other things.

Imagine if this was possible. These variables could be used for anything at all: different states of the worldmap, disappearing walls in the levels, modes of behaviour in enemies, anything that needs an external value to keep track of. Even if the maxium value is 255 that's still so many individual numbers that could be used as a flag for a specific state.

Even if the limit on these variables is 1 and 0, there are still 8 variables that could be used to flag things... is it easily possible to patch Keen 2 to win the game just by detecting the amount of levels won?
Fleexy
Site Admin