It won't work!

ModKeen mods Tiles and Sprites in all episodes of Commander Keen.
levellass
Posts: 2841
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:59 am

By the sounds of it two things are going wrong here. The first is that paint has changed the palette of your images (It shouldn't.) and the second is that the hitboxes aren't being imported correctly (Probably because of the palette change.) so the sprites can't collide with stuff. Could you upload an edited bitmap so the palette can be checked? This was an issue with keengraph too.

mortimer
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Hillville

Post by mortimer » Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:34 pm

Here's the first keen sprite
Image

http://www.mediafire.com/?ehtpsi055ibsp1f

levellass
Posts: 2841
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:30 am

Whoah, whoah WHOAH!

Paint did this? This is severe palette mangling. Possibly you need to use an older version of paint, I have one somewhere.

The problem is the palette being used by the bitmap is massively incorrect. You cannot make a new file then rename it to a modkeen graphic, you cannot save modkeen graphics in any program that automatically rearranges the palette.

This is a picture of your palette as seen by PalSuite 3: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3940020/Screenshot1.png

This is what it should look like: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3940020/Screenshot4.png

This is your bitmap in the correct format: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3940020/1SPR0000%282%29.bmp

User avatar
XkyRauh
Posts: 1112
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:14 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Post by XkyRauh » Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:20 pm

If you ARE stuck using the old version of Paint, one way to get around the palette confusion is to cut/paste your new graphics into the old file.

Which is to say, make your new sprite, copy the image, and then open the one that ModKeen extracted for you, and paste your new data in--the old version of Paint should convert the palette for you. :)

levellass
Posts: 2841
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:17 am

I thought it was the *new* versions of paint that fiddled palettes?

User avatar
XkyRauh
Posts: 1112
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:14 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Post by XkyRauh » Wed Feb 09, 2011 6:56 am

When I say "old version of Paint," I'm referring to whatever came stock in Windows 98. :} That's the last time I did any hardcore KeenModding.

Post Reply