ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

ModKeen mods Tiles and Sprites in all episodes of Commander Keen.
Post Reply
User avatar
Alopex
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:27 pm
Location: Bloogfoods, Inc.

ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Alopex » Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:20 pm

As the title says: I'm trying to export Keen 6 graphics just for fun and I'm facing a problem when I try to do it with Modkeen.

After the command:

Code: Select all

modkeen -episode=6 -export -bmpdir="BMP"
this error occurs:

Code: Select all

ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!
This is what my Keen6mod folder contains:

Code: Select all

BMP (Folder)
AUDIO.CK6
CK6PATCH.EXE
CWSDPMI.EXE
EGAGRAPH.CK6
GAMEMAPS.CK6
KEEN6.EXE
modkeen.exe
unlzexe.exe
N.B:

The version of Modkeen is 2.0.1 (the one that Fleexy suggested me to get when I was facing another problem almost like this);

I took KEEN6.EXE from Dead in the Desert and the other Keen 6 game files from another Commander Keen 6 folder;

and last, but not least, when I tried to unlzexe KEEN6.EXE (Unlzexe 32-bit), strangely this doesn't create the keen6.exenew file. There was only the classic flashing window on the screen. Perhaps is this the problem?

Do you have any tips to help me resolve this error?

User avatar
Nisaba
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: patch.pat
Contact:

Re: ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Nisaba » Sat Jul 08, 2017 8:27 pm

just give it another shot, but this time around, don't mix files from different projects. simply stay with the Dead in the Desert files and only add modkeen, CWSDPMI.EXE, and an empty folder called BMP. i just tested this very setup with the Dead in the Desert files and it worked fine for me.

ps.:
you don't need to unlzexe the keen6.exe cause it already is.

User avatar
Alopex
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:27 pm
Location: Bloogfoods, Inc.

Re: ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Alopex » Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:40 pm

OK, I did like you said, but I exported the Keen 8 graphics. Actually I need to export the original bmp files of Keen 6.

User avatar
Nisaba
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: patch.pat
Contact:

Re: ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Nisaba » Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:10 am

well, then you need a fresh copy of Keen 6. the graphic junks you've extracted are all mod related. unfortunately this game isn't available for purchase anymore... (see: http://www.shikadi.net/keenwiki/Keen_6: ... by_Sitter!)

what files exactly do you want to extract? only the graphics? if so, someone might share these graphics with you.

User avatar
Alopex
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:27 pm
Location: Bloogfoods, Inc.

Re: ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Alopex » Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:32 am

I have a copy of Keen 6:

Code: Select all

AUDIO.CK6
CONFIG.CK6
EGAGRAPH.CK6
GAMEMAPS.CK6
and then I have the .exe file from Dead in the Desert, but it seems that with these files it doesn't work. I need all the graphics of the game, the ones you export with Modkeen if all goes well, just like you want to make a Keen 6 mod.

I also saw some people have made mods from Keen 6. I'd like to ask them how they did.

User avatar
Nisaba
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: patch.pat
Contact:

Re: ERROR: Not enough memory to decompress EGAGRAPH chunk 3 (size 21444921 at E03)!

Post by Nisaba » Sun Jul 09, 2017 2:49 pm

Alopex wrote:
Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:32 am
I have a copy of Keen 6:

Code: Select all

AUDIO.CK6
CONFIG.CK6
EGAGRAPH.CK6
GAMEMAPS.CK6
where are these files coming from? and which version are you using? Keen 6 v.1.4 (EGA)?
cause I tested your setup (a clean copy of the EGAGRAPH.CK6 + the DitD EXE.) over here and it worked just fine.

btw. modding Keen 6 won't differ from modding Keen 4. you can do all the steps as told in Ceilicks Tutorial. you only need the correct set of files, that's why I'm asking for your version you are using.

Post Reply