More usefulness

Request patches for Keens 1-3.
Post Reply
levellass
Posts: 3001
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

More usefulness

Post by levellass »

It could create a quick basic program for doing the endtextext and level hints inKeen 1-3; it would have the advantage that you would type in the text you wanted, as many lines as you wanted and it would automatically size the windows to fit, rearranging code so that you can use as much space per window as you want. (Provided that in total the amount of text you use is not greater than the game can store, a 'space left' counter will keep track of this.)

(The current system involves either some dedicated patching using LL's confusing stuff, or just using the space you have in each window, which can be very limiting.)

The question again is, will it actually be used if it's made? I know I'd like it, but would anyone else?
User avatar
Freeyorp101
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:12 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by Freeyorp101 »

I would certainly use the program.
User avatar
XkyRauh
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:14 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Post by XkyRauh »

That sounds extremely handy. At the very least, the CKCM could make good use of it :)
levellass
Posts: 3001
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass »

Tell me, if I want to use the shell command in Quick Basic to combine several files whoose identity depends on a selected option, how do I go about that?

Say, I want to combine file1.txt and *either* file2.txt *or* file3.txt depending on what i select. How would I do that?
levellass
Posts: 3001
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass »

Okay; I think I figured out how to do that shell thing, another question I must ask is, how do I print the '"' character, since adding it to an expression will make Quick Basic think it's reached the end of that expression.
User avatar
adurdin
Site Founder
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 11:27 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Post by adurdin »

Code: Select all

PRINT "This string has a double quote " + CHR$(34) + " in it"
Edit: Thanks CK Guy -- corrected it. It's been too long since I did anything in QB...
Last edited by adurdin on Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ckguy
Posts: 465
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:20 am
Location: Wakefield, RI, US
Contact:

Post by ckguy »

adurdin wrote:

Code: Select all

PRINT "This string has a double quote "" in it"
I know that works in VB, but does it work in QB? I thought you had to do a CHR$(34).
levellass
Posts: 3001
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass »

CHR$? I shall look this up; i know the doubble quote doesn't work, but yes... I've used CHR beore somewhere...
Post Reply