V2 project - Extra Tilesets

Completed patches for Keen1.
lemm
Posts: 554
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:32 pm

Post by lemm » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:25 am

If you want, you can do it by hand.


What you have to do is concatenate a TLI file + the four planes of EGALATCH tile data (Blue,Green,Red,Intensity in that order) + and the four planes of animation data, into your TLS file. To get the animation data, you can download the DOSBOX debugger and do a binary memdump of 5600 bytes (command memdumpbin ds:3C48 15E0) after the title screen is loaded.

And you have to do this for each tileset.

The EGALATCH file information is at:
http://levellord.rewound.net/File%20For ... %20EGA.txt


And the DOSBOX debugger + guide is at: http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=7323


So yeah, I would wait for the converter ;) I did it by hand for the example .TLS in the zip file just to make sure the patch works.

Kdash
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by Kdash » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:09 am

Ah, I see.
Well, there's time. I've still got several levels to make for my second mod... And I've mentioned it before - I hate making levels. It's been like 4 years already... lol.

User avatar
Fleexy
Site Admin
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:33 am
Location: Blogham Tower
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:24 pm

Ooh, ooh, ooh! Hire me! I love to make levels!

And I'll work for free!!

Get this limited offer before it exprires!!

Kdash
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by Kdash » Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:20 pm

Ha ha... no, sorry.
Two reasons:
1. I like doing all the work myself... having someone else do the levels would make it feel like it's not my own game.
2. I want my mod to be possible :-P

User avatar
Fleexy
Site Admin
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:33 am
Location: Blogham Tower
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:17 pm

Rats.

levellass
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:13 am

Ummm, hate to point this out people, but I left a link to the program just after the format post.

I've had to change it several times with the patch (And also Lemm, your data on the TLA format wasn't quiiiite correct.) but it's been ready(ish) for the past two days. I shall make a topic.


Get it here: http://levellord.rewound.net/TLS.zip

lemm
Posts: 554
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:32 pm

Post by lemm » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:36 am

Ohno

What did I get wrong?

Kdash
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by Kdash » Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:25 pm

Cool, I got it working!

Something I noticed: This *almost* solves the issue of bridges starting out on or off. Just by changing the bridge tile in each tileset, some levels can have bridges that start out on, and some levels can have bridges that start out off.

Also, we can have map levels closer to Galaxy, where each level looks unique on the outside, since more tiles can be devoted to the map.

levellass
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 am

We could do that already, but NOW we can do it extra!

levellass
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:02 am

An interesting effect occurs if you give one tile another's graphics, then make it masked. When sprites touches the tile (And only when sprites touch it) the black part of the mask will be the tile's actual graphics while the white part will be the 'new' graphics. This looks strange, but can make some interesting 'pop up' tiles. (Note, you will need to give the tile it's own mask, not the tile whose graphics it 'steals')

So yeah.

User avatar
CommanderSpleen
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 12:11 pm
Location: The Land of Sparkly Things
Contact:

Post by CommanderSpleen » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:46 am

I still don't quite follow what you're talking about there, Levellass. Is this a warning to be careful where you assign masked tiles in the tileset?

Just trying to figure this patch out for my secondary mod now.

And then Vortlev and Tilephile are going to require some modifications to work with these new Lemm patches more conductively. This'll be fun...

levellass
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:24 pm

What would be interesting is if Tilephile could edit the TLS files, it shouldn't be too hard since the tileinfo file is stored complete. (But the slope patch will be a good thing to implement.) Likewise Vortlev shouldn't have too much problem finding the tile data given the size of a TLS file.


What I was saying in the above post is, say you have two tiles, A and B. You want them both to look the same, so you tweak tile B to use tile A's graphics (I'm not sure if my program can do this, but the latest version of KeenGraph can)

Now, if tile B is masked, it looks normal enough usually, that is, it looks like tile A. BUT the graphics switch doesn't work on masks. So as soon as Keen or anything else touches it, the 'fore' part of the tile will still be tile A's graphics, but the 'back' part will be tile B's graphics.

Essentially the tile will change appearance whenever something touches it. You will see this in my mod when I release it, it can have very interesting effects, especially if the mask is colored.

lemm
Posts: 554
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:32 pm

Post by lemm » Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:21 am

I saw something similar when I tried to get masked animation to work. I set four tiles to be "masked" in tileinfo, but then set the animation part of the tls file as if they were animated tiles.

Unfortunately, when a sprite touched them, you didn't get masked animation. The part of the tile contacting the sprite would just stop animating and mask the sprite, while the part of the tile not in contact would keep animating. Or something like that; it was weird.

levellass
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:07 am

*Nods* Same cause, *all* tiles animate, it's just that some have different graphics for their frames.

User avatar
CommanderSpleen
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 12:11 pm
Location: The Land of Sparkly Things
Contact:

Post by CommanderSpleen » Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:51 pm

I tried this patch out on one of my mods and then a fresh copy of Keen1, but the TLS files levellass' utility generates don't work properly for me. The graphics are all jumbled and everything animates.

The testing files are here.

Here is an excerpt from our discussion on the IRC channel:

Code: Select all

<lemm> In the .tls file that si
<lemm> apparently all tiles have been set to animate
<lemm> Secondly, there is this at the beginning of the file:
<lemm> 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 0
<lemm> 7 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 20 07 1A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 ED CB 00 00 00 10 62 D0 00 00 00 10 A1 E5 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 54 75 72 62 6F 20 43 2B 2B 20 2D 20 43 6F 70 79 72 69 67 68 74 20 31 39 39 30 20 42 6F 72 6C 61 6E 64 20 49 6E 74 6C 2E 00 4E 75 6C 6C 20 70 6F 69 6E 74 65 72 20 61 73 73 69 67 6E 6D 65 6E 74 0D 0A 44 69 76 69 64 65 20 65 72 72 6F 72 0D 0A 41
<lemm>  62 6E 6F 72 6D 61 6C 20 70 72 6F 67 72 61 6D 20 74 65 72 6D 69 6E 61 74 69 6F 6E 0D 0A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 46 AC 46 AC 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
<lemm> er
<lemm> That was supposed to paste as text
<lemm> anyways its 180h bytes of crap that is overwriting the tileinfo part
<lemm> It says "compiled by turbo c++" and stuff
<lemm> But you can fix it manuallly.

Post Reply