Tileset Tool - The V2 Tileset Editor (Updated 2012-12-29)

Utilities to affect Keen:Vorticons tilesets.
levellass
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:02 pm

Th entire patch in the patchfile with all the files set up and a level that shows some basic (1:1, 1:2, 1:3 2:1) slopes and animations, maybe color cycling.

This is not just so much for me, but for newer modders; I have had three modders so far give up on the old tileset tool because they couldn't figure out how things were supposed to work, and it usually involved minor issues that most of us assume everyone understands. (No, you have to import the tileset bitmap each time you change it, yes it's separate from the other graphics.)

Such demonstrations are invaluable, and give people a way of looking at a working project to compare with what they've done.

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:03 am

levellass wrote: This is not just so much for me, but for newer modders; I have had three modders so far give up on the old tileset tool because they couldn't figure out how things were supposed to work...
Why doesn't anybody tell me these things? I want to know all about people's experiences with my software so that I can improve it.

I've expanded the patch download to include the mod I used for basic testing. The tileset is just a straight import from Keen 1 with a simple color cycle applied. I'll get back to you on slopes - I'm having trouble with them myself! :o

levellass
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:35 am

I know how you feel, people have left off using my stuff for the most trivial of reasons and not said a word.

Slayterdawg
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:14 pm

Post by Slayterdawg » Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:57 am

I've been playing with the tilesettool and exported the bmp.
The dimension of the bmp change from 208 x 1120 to 16 x 14560 and makes it impossible to modify the bmp tileset. Is there a way to resave it as 208 x 1120 ?

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:55 am

Slayterdawg wrote:I've been playing with the tilesettool and exported the bmp.
The dimension of the bmp change from 208 x 1120 to 16 x 14560 and makes it impossible to modify the bmp tileset. Is there a way to resave it as 208 x 1120 ?
I will add that to my to-do list. For now, if you choose "Export to external editor..." from the tools menu, it will give you a 208 wide image. The catch is that this represents the first frame of animation for each tile, rather than the actual graphics data.

Nospike
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Some cool place, idk

Post by Nospike » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:31 pm

When I try to import my bmp tileset, all tiles show up as tile zero. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I read a few pages back that there's been a problem with animations causing this but I believe that bug's been fixed...

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:49 pm

That's normal. The way the new tilesets work is that any tile can have any graphic assigned to it, via the animation editor. One benefit of this is that you don't have to include all the frames of an animated tile or the mask portion of a masked tile in the actual tiles, just in the graphics. If you want to do things the old-fashioned way, there's an option in the tools menu "auto-map tiles". An upcoming version will include some more convenience functions for mapping tiles.

Nospike
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Some cool place, idk

Post by Nospike » Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:31 pm

Thanks. Now I can finally make progress with my tileset(s).

Nospike
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Some cool place, idk

Post by Nospike » Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:43 am

Hate to doublepost, but how exactly do I set tiles to animate? I apply "Four Frame Cycle" to the first animation frame but I have no idea what to do next. Only the first tile will animate when placed ingame, the rest are stationary.

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:48 am

Once again, this is normal. Each tile has its own animation, so there's none of that strange linking that standard K:V likes to do. If you want to have all those variations, you'll have to set them up individually.

levellass
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:41 am

We may need a readme or tutorial covering these basic questions. Once again, when your lovely program goes out to real users, it's amazing what gets misunderstood.

Nospike
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Some cool place, idk

Post by Nospike » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:08 am

Dr. Kylstein wrote:Once again, this is normal. Each tile has its own animation, so there's none of that strange linking that standard K:V likes to do. If you want to have all those variations, you'll have to set them up individually.
I know that but don't really understand how to do it... :(

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:55 pm

For custom animations, you double-click on frames in the animation editor. What you may want to do is to apply the 4-frame cycle first, then just fix the frames that are off.

Edit: levellass: I'm working on it. I've re-written the built-in help around an overview of V2 and a FAQ. The next release will also be a "user-friendliness" update.

Dr. Kylstein
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by Dr. Kylstein » Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:41 am

New release!

Bad news: Undo/redo and paint-mode have been removed because they were very buggy. Good news: hotkeys work again.

Changes:
-Added hotkey for partial auto-mapping.
-Re-arranged menus by domain.
-Added status tips and more helpful labels. Added another FAQ.
-Re-wrote documentation.
-Made saving automatically add extension
-Separated importing TileInfo from opening, applied "Save Now?" more generally.
-Re-did menus, icons, and toolbars, made zoom visibly disable at extents.
-Fixed palette and animations marking modified for identical data.
-Moved zoom in/out directly into the menu, cleaned up zoom/wrap settings
-Removed undo/redo and paintmode, made modification tracking more sensible
-Added ability to set all frames at once by double-clicking in the tile view.
-Fixed hotkeys.
-Made export bitmap wrap to 13 tiles across.

levellass
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:03 pm
Location: Ngaruawahia New Zealand

Post by levellass » Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:36 am

Most excellent.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests